The trails at Mallorytown Landing travel through woodland and wetland habitats and transects the property of a Loyalist farm that was cultivated until 1956. The lower section of the Mallorytown Landing trail provides a very accessible hike experience to visitors with limited mobility. This section features a red pine plantation and a new forest that has grown up in the place of the abandoned Loyalist farmstead. Hikers will get a taste of the rugged terrain of the Frontenac Arch in the upper reaches of the trail.
Click here for directions to MALLORYTOWN LANDING
*Note: Directions may lead to map coordinates (in longitude/ latitude)
St. Lawrence Islands National Park was established in 1904, the first Canadian national park east of the Rocky Mountains. It began with a small piece of waterfront property granted to the federal government by the Mallory family with the stipulation that it be used for "park purposes." Nine federally owned islands in the St. Lawrence River were added, and recreational facilities were installed. Over the years, islands and land parcels were annexed. Today, the Park comprises more than 20 islands and about 90 islets scattered between Main Duck Island and Brockville, Ontario, and mainland propreties at Mallorytown Landing, Landon Bay, Jones Creek and Larue Mills Creek.
The St. Lawrence Islands National Park visitor's center and main headquarters are located atMallorytown Landing on the 1000 Islands Parkway between Brockville and Gananoque. The visitor center features many exhibits for people of all ages and is open seasonally.